Key skills for mechanical engineer

As a mechanical engineer i have 90% on field job and i hate it and i particularly dont find any scope in it.
What am i good at is desk oriented jobs be it anything.
Now besides good grades which i dont have what other skills or softwares softwares should i learn so as to get a decent desk job so as to expand my knowledge upto core level.
I know few cad softwares besides will learning programming will help me enter IT field or at least useful in mechanical field. I am good in maths and like problem solving.

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    #-Link-Snipped-# - I think CAD would offer you the job you desire. Have you had any exposure to programming before? Programming might take up quite some time till you make yourself ready for the industry.

I'd strongly suggest exploring the CAD domain. Should bring you the best of both worlds: computers and mechanical.
  • Deadman
    Deadman
    I am already familiar with cad softwares but i have never done programming before.
    Will it be wise to take break from job and learn programming.
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    Deadman
    I am already familiar with cad softwares but i have never done programming before.
    Will it be wise to take break from job and learn programming.
    If your employer allows you time off for several days while keeping your employment intact, you may go for it. However, it'd always be better to organise your routine to include 1-2 hours for studies.

If 'break' implies quitting your job - I'd advise strongly against it.
  • Deadman
    Deadman
    Why against quitting job?
  • n1kh1l
    n1kh1l
    Hi
    you can consider pipeline engineering as an alternate field. Its related to pipeline design in large industries. I think mainly desk job but may have some field work.
  • Abhiraj10
    Abhiraj10
    hi
    you can also try try other software such as CATIA, ANSYS which is trending in industries nowadays.
  • Deadman
    Deadman