Job vs Higher Studies

Hi,
I recently completed my Bachelors degree.(June 2012)
B.Tech in Computer Science.
Up until the second year of my engineering, I was a below average student.
But, afterwards, I started working hard and my grades started to pick up during the third and final year. Now, my average percentile is 70% (65% in 1st & 2nd yr and 75% in 3rd and 4th yr).
The institute I studied in is not a well known one.
I got placed in an average IT company, with a salary of Rs. 2,75,000 per year, on a contract for 30 months. I am supposed to join in August(First week probably).
So, I got 1 month to make a decision regarding my career.

I got 4 plans currently and am not able to choose one.

1. Job with current company, improve my skill set and move on to better companies/better job descriptions and so on.
2. Job with current company, while preparing for CAT/GMAT and then MBA.
3. Job with current company, improve my skill set while preparing for GRE & TOEFL and then, M.S in a reputed institute in US.
4. Decline job offer, prepare for GRE and TOEFL and then M.S(Jan 2013), hopefully in a reputed institute(if I do not get admitted into one, then I'll try again in Sept. 2013)

What do you think is the right choice for me?

Please do post any other suggestions on your mind.
I am pretty good at programming languages like C, C++, Java and my communication and analytical skills are very good.
I like to travel and experience life in different countries.
I don't want to be a regular guy with a regular job.
I always look for something new and interesting.

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    First of all welcome to CE and thank you for asking your question in a proper way. It helps us understand your situation better and offer better response 😀