Is it professional to make a portfolio on a free hosting site?

I'm sorry if this question sounds stupid, but I'm a recent graduate with a CSE degree & I'm thinking of making myself a portfolio that visitors can have a look at to find all the work I have done.
I was thinking of making my portfolio initially on a free hosting site like Hostinger.in and then giving it a proper domain like ".com" or ".in" once I started getting recognized in my field.
But someone told me it wouldn't look professional to have some "myname.xyz.en" as my portfolio website even as a fresher & that future employers might not even visit the site just seeing the name. Is that true?
Do I really have to shell out 3K & get myself a ".com" or ".in" just to get noticed?

Thank You for your time!!

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    Arijit Banerjee
    Do I really have to shell out 3K & get myself a ".com" or ".in" just to get noticed?
    Regular domains aren't that costly. You should be able to get a .com at max for Rs. 600/year. GoDaddy has offers round the year so you should be able to get it a LOT cheaper. If not go for .info domain which is available for just about Rs. 299/year.

You surely can skip a dinner with friends to buy the domain.
  • [Prototype]
    [Prototype]
    Indeed. I am not sure where you got the information that you need 3K for domain and hosting. You can get away with Rs.99. Look here -> #-Link-Snipped-#

You are reading an archived discussion.

Related Posts

HTC has launched One X9 smartphone meant for city-smart users, which is expected to cost around INR 25,990. The company has also launched HTC 10, a HTC desire series device...
A refurbished mid-range car for regular use has been placed under the spotlight with some modern modifications by Hyundai Motor India Limited. The “new thinking” company has reworked on their...