Is Designing a Social Networking Website as my final year project a wise idea?

Even though I am a Final year IT student, I am not good in programming. So, I thought that I could learn about web technologies and do my final year project on my own in it, instead of buying projects from project centers which is a total waste of time and money. I just want to do something of my own and gain some knowledge in it and hence I chose to create a social networking website. So, I would like to know what things I have to learn as the first step of my project. Is it wise to choose social networking website as my final year project? If not can you please help me with some ideas along with what i should study with it?

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    SREJA
    So, I would like to know what things I have to learn as the first step of my project
    Well, you will have to learn programming language anyway. The first step would be to pick up a web programming language: PHP, Ruby, JavaScript and also have some knowledge of HTML and CSS. That'd be the first step words working on your own project.

SREJA
    Is it wise to choose social networking website as my final year project?
    Sure it's a nice idea if you are new to programming. List out the features you'd like in your social networking project. That should give you a clear idea about the scope and limitations of your project.
  • SREJA
    SREJA
    Main Features:
    1) Chatting
    2) Blogging
    If possible, Ill try to add some more additional features.
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    #-Link-Snipped-# - If you are making a social network; you will have to start with the core features like - user management (login, sessions, connections, passwords etc.), wall so that people can write messages, uploading files, photos etc. Chatting and blogging would be nice features to have.
  • SREJA
    SREJA
    Kaustubh Katdare