i need help in moving from classroom to practical application

hi,

I'm a second year IT student. I was discussing with one of my friends the other day about how the syllabus is too theoretical....we have any practiacal training. Last year we had elecron devices and circuits and i learnt about a dozen graphs and complicated formulae about transistors understanding about 20% of the whole syllabus...which is apparently high according to some of my seniors. I would have spent hours googling and reading material online but still my knowledge about electronics is foggy...at best.

I came to the conclusion that unless i actually work with transistors in practical experiments i'll never fully understand them. Here im just using transistors as an example. I feel this way about almost all my subjects.

I don't know how many other engineering students have faced such problems... but my lack of practical knowledge overwhelms me. I want to start doing some experiments at home to help me understand concepts better. But i dont know where to start. If there were clubs for such activities in college to guide me that would be great but there are no such clubs. I would really like some suggestions on how to improve my skills and be a good engineer because i know im not stupid...im just confused. please help.

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    Hi confounded,

I'm very happy to see your concern. I rarely see anyone so concerned about the syllabus and gaining practical knowledge. Your concern is genuine and I know what's going on in your mind.

I like the concept of 'clubs' you mentioned. If it does not exist, why don't you start a CE Club in your college? We all are ready & happy to help you with anything that you need. The club would benefit lot of engineering enthusiasts and you could very well help us develop projects. It will also help you enhance your skills & practical knowledge.