How much writing do you do as an Engineer?

Hi Guys, I'm new to this forum.. it looks like a good little resource

I'm a student, I've only just started my first semester at University as a Mechanical Engineer
I'm currently doing a subject called "Engineering Communication", and need to find a few things out off a professional engineer, basically to teach me how important writing skills are.

It would be great if anyone here could answer the following questions for me:
  • How much of your time is spent writing each day?
  • Is the amount of writing you do related to how long you have been with a particular company?
  • In what ways do you feel your writing skills have helped (or hindered) you in your career so far?
  • Do you get any help with your writing from secretaries, peers, or technical writers?
  • What is the attitude of your superiors toward clear writing?
If anyone could do that it would be a huge help..
Thankyou very much in advance ๐Ÿ˜€
Danny

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    Danny, welcome to CE. I think there are no straightforward answers to your questions. However, I'll try my best to answer your questions -

[assumption: writing <=> typing ๐Ÿ˜ ]
    • How much of your time is spent writing each day?
    While working at a junior level, about 3 / 8 hours in e mailing/reporting/on IMs (for business communication). Maybe 4-4.5 hours at a senior position (mid-management).
    • Is the amount of writing you do related to how long you have been with a particular company?
    Not really. I think its a function of your designation / role.
    • In what ways do you feel your writing skills have helped (or hindered) you in your career so far?
    Writing skills are essential. A neat resume can win you a job. I do not have any personal experiences I can relate to your question.
    • Do you get any help with your writing from secretaries, peers, or technical writers?
    Yep. What kind of help are we talking about here?