How Does A Random Number Generator Work?

I always had a query. I have really good software development background (although I am a Mechanical Engineer by education & profession). How do random number generators work?

A thought experiment: Have two systems (one much faster than the other) ready with the same rand(). Start the program at the same time on both the systems. The slower system computes a random number with whatever logic it adopts and takes time "x". The faster system can generate the same number in time less than "x". So what is totally randomly generated for the user of the slower system is not so random after all, if he calls up the user of the faster system as gets to know the number beforehand.

Please provide answers and neglect the seemingly absurd thought experiment.

Replies

• Ramani Aswath
    Ramani Aswath
    I do not get this.
    In an excel sheet you fill as many cells as you want with the rand() function. They all get filled with different random numbers at the same time.
  • Shashank Moghe
    Shashank Moghe
    A.V.Ramani
    I do not get this.
    In an excel sheet you fill as many cells as you want with the rand() function. They all get filled with different random numbers at the same time.
    All I am saying is, what is the underlying logic in generating a random number? There must be some logic that has to be used, and that undermines the whole point of it being random. A faster computer can run the same logic and can provide you with this "random" number while the slower computer still works on the same rand() program. Turns out, for the slower computer, the number computed isn't random at all (since it is already outputted by the faster computer).