Helix made from 6 inch dia. steel pipe segments

My name is Doug. I am not an engineer. If either of those statements disqualifies me from being a member here, please tell me. If there is a more appropriate forum to post my question, please direct me.
I am seeking help with predicting the final shape of a helix made by welding together segments of 6 inch diameter steel pipe if I predetermine the length of each piece of pipe, the cut angle between the pieces and the pipes rotation between angle cuts.
I would like to make a shape that starts with a small rotational diameter and fast climb rate and finishes with a larger rotational diameter and smaller climb rate.
I want to anticipate the finished shape based on a cut list instead of a gut feeling.

IMG_0115
Thanks, Doug

Replies

• Ramani Aswath
    Ramani Aswath
    The simplest way is to design the helix on a CAD software like auto cad or solid works. This can be sliced at intervals (6 inches if you want). The slices can be dimensioned using the software. The rest is welding of which you know better.
  • Harshad Italiya
    Harshad Italiya
    You can also try out some online CAD design tools. I have used this one long back:- Tinkercad | From mind to design in minutes
  • Charles Bower
    Charles Bower
    Thank you Mr. Ramani and Mr. Italiya for reading and responding to this thread.
    The extent of my computer skill is that I can type using all my remaining natural digits.
    The sum of my math skills would be comparable to typing with a single foreshortened digit... ever so slowly.

I can accurately describe this projects goal and objectives and provide a list of tasks that I think, based on experience and intuition, will produce a helical shape. This construction method is error prone and leads to extensive use of my shops welding delete button.

The projects goal is: Replace the pole that supports a Barn Owl nesting box.