GCC vs Turbo C

So,
I am new in this programming thing ... being an EC engineer i was never too much involved in Languages.
But recently i wanted to learn all programming languages anyhow ...
so i started with C ... Never been a fan of Windows, so i wanted to do all this coding & learning it in Fedora Linux. Somehow, while trolling GCC vs TC in CE Forums, I found one of fellow CEan wrote that GCC is for advanced level programming & TC is for newbie ... To be honest, I found GCC very convenient.

I just need reviews and guide from veteran programmers about ... is it okay that i stick with GCC compiler .. or should i opt TC compiler.
& please elaborate the difference between GCC & TC compilers.

Any help and criticism are welcome ! ๐Ÿ˜€

Replies

• yorha 2b
    yorha 2b
    no one ?? ๐Ÿ˜” ๐Ÿ˜ญ
  • [Prototype]
    [Prototype]
    Of course GCC is totally fine. You'll find that in almost all the free linux distro and what not. There's nothing like compiler for advance & compiler for newbie. Until the your program is syntactically correct, compiler used is of least concern. Yes, every compiler offers certain compiler specific features (ever seen that #pragma ?), but those are seldom used as they hurt the portability of the program.

TC is outdated if you ask me, while gcc is still under active development, so its good idea to stick to it. As a short answer to your question, it doesn't matter which compiler you use. If you know the language itself, your programs will compile regardless of compiler its thrown at.

Though, I would advice to not be a "wanna be" cool programmer(trying to write code in notepad) and download an IDE for coding. It really helps a lot in learning & further coding. You can get the Code::Block IDE for free, bundled with gcc.

We all know no one likes to work in blue screen with white font when you great graphical interfaces available..๐Ÿ˜‰

Hope that answers you question.

Best Regards.
  • yorha 2b
    yorha 2b
    [Prototype]