Career & Scope In Software Testing

Hi kaustabh,

I am a testing trainee in a company in bhopal.I dont have any interest in programming so i have chosen testing as a career so what are the carrer scope in this field and also salary growth.I got a job as a manual tester

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    Welcome to CE, @#-Link-Snipped-# . I've moved your post to a new thread.

Manual testing is a good way to start career in software testing. Make sure that you understand all the concepts of manual testing and get hands on experience on as many tools and learn techniques. A solid foundation in manual testing is a must for a better career in the QA domain. Unfortunately, many people ignore it.

Once you've developed expertise and gained experience in manual testing (about 4-6 months); you can begin learning automation testing. Ensure that in the next 2 years, you get very comfortable with QTP, Selenium, PERL and other scripting languages or tools.

Why is this important?

Because your career prospects would depend a lot on your skill-set. An expert in manual and automation testing with sufficient experience should find it very easy to get new job with better package and perks. Your growth in any organisation will depend on how much you contribute to your project and how your professional relations are with your team leaders and other bosses.

No one can predict salary growth path. It typically depends on industry conditions, your company, your role and your overall importance in the organisation.

I hope this answers your question. Make sure that you participate in various discussions at CrazyEngineers - because that's one great way to make sure you are up to date with everything that matters.
  • pallavi shrivastava
    pallavi shrivastava
    what about making career in manual testing
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    pallavi shrivastava
    what about making career in manual testing