matlab to pic serial communication

HI there, I am new to serial communication and i am trying to send data via matlab to my pic18f4431 microcontroller via a serial port. I am programming my pic using picc18 compiler in mplab and then loadng that program into a bootloader for my pic.

The problem is i dont think that my coding is correct and so here it is:

Pic code:

#include
#include

void main(void)
{
ANSEL0=0b00000000;

TRISA = 0b00000000;
RCSTA=0b10010000;
TXSTA=0b00100000;
SPBRG=0x0F;

wait:
if(PIR1bits.RCIF==0)
{
goto wait;
}

PORTA=RCREG;
}

Matlab Code:

b=[7 4];
s = serial('COM2');
set(s,'BaudRate',9600,'DataBits',8,'Parity','none' ,'StopBits',1,'FlowControl','none','InputBufferSiz e',102400)
fopen(s);
s.Status

if strcmp(s.TransferStatus, 'idle') || strcmp(s.TransferStatus,'read')
fwrite(s,b,'uint8','async');

else

end

stopasync(s)
fclose(s)
delete(s)
clear s
display('finished')

If anyone knows what the problem is or knows of the correct way to create the communication between the pic and matlab, please let me know...

Thanks

Replies

• durga ch
    durga ch
    Hi
    Tried doing something.
    after taking a brush up from The serial port session in ' help' section of matlab i tried modifying your above code accordingly

%Create a serial port object — Create a serial port object for a specific serial port using the serial creation function.

%Configure properties during object creation if necessary. In particular, you might want to configure properties associated with serial port communications such as the baud rate, the number of data bits, and so on.

%Connect to the device — Connect the serial port object to the device using the fopen function.

%After the object is connected, alter the necessary device settings by configuring property values, read data, and write data.

%Configure properties — To establish the desired serial port object behavior, assign values to properties using the set function or dot notation.