Laptop Battery: Plugged In, Not Charging -> How to Fix!

CEans, here's how to fix the laptop battery Plugged In, Not Charging issue. I had almost two sleepless nights fixing this problem and finally found out the fix.

Problem: When you plug in the power adapter to your laptop [Mine is Dell XPS m1210], the battery indicator on the laptop does not turn up. When you login to your system (mine is Windows Vista Business 32 bit); the battery notifier in the task bar says "Plugged In, Not Charging".

Problem Areas:

1. Your laptop's power adapter.
2. Your battery.
3. Your laptop motherboard.
4. System BIOS.

What to do if you experience this problem:

I searched numerous forums and blogs finding a fix. Of course, as an Engineer, I should have first found out the root cause of the problem; but I panicked and rushed to find a fix. Learning from my own mistakes here's my advise to you -

1. Borrow an adapter from your friend and try to plug it into the laptop. Observe the battery indicator light on your laptop. If the light turns on; it's time to get a new adapter. Get in touch with your laptop vendor.

2. If step #1 does not work, turn of your system and try taking out the battery; then wait for 5 minutes. Plug it in and turn on your system. Plug in your power adapter and observe. This step solved the problem for many folks out there! Not an engineer's way to solve the problem, of course.

3. Flash your system BIOS. Don't worry, it's not as hard as it sounds. Simply get the latest BIOS driver from your laptop manufacturer's website and run the setup. The system will reboot, update the BIOS and restart. This might solve the problem for you.

4. If this too, does not work; it's the time to call your laptop's technical support. If you still want to try out stuff on your own to fix the problem; try browsing through Device Manager in Windows [Type Device Manager in Run box or Rt. Click on 'Computer' and then select properties]